Ramones and Others Added to National Registry 

By Bob Vincent

On March 21, 2013 The Library of Congress announced the 25 new recordings that have been added to the national registry for 2012 and classics from The Ramones and Pink Floyd are among them. The Library is tasked each year with preserving 25 recordings that are "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant" and have named their 2012 selections.

Among the class of 2012 are "Ramones," The Ramones (1976), "The Dark Side of the Moon," Pink Floyd (1973), "Sounds of Silence," Simon and Garfunkel (1966), "Cheap Thrills," Big Brother and the Holding Company (1968), "Saturday Night Fever," The Bee Gees, et al (1977) and "The Twist," Chubby Checker (1960).

The Library sent over details about each of the 25 recordings that have been added to the National Registry.

"Ramones," The Ramones (1976)
Clash band co-founder Joe Strummer said that the first time he saw The Ramones, the band generated a "white heat" attributable as much to the speed of the songs and volume of the amplifiers as to the fact that "you couldn't put a cigarette paper between the end of one song and the beginning of the next." The band's first album captured the incandescence of guitarist Johnny Ramone's speedy no-nonsense playing, Dee Dee Ramone's propulsive bass and the surfy sonorities of Tommy's drums. The youthful tone of Joey Ramone's singing voice was equally influenced by Iggy Pop and bubblegum rock. When combined with the backing vocals and lyrics portraying teen love and anxiety, it gave the album a strong pop flavor despite its heavy sound and the disturbing aspects of other songs dealing with drug use, Nazism and male prostitution...